Personal Stories

Personal Stories Book

Best Christmas Gift Ever!

I am passionate about recording your life, your story and your history. Memoir is a very important genre to me. I want to share (one more time in a blog) one of the coolest gifts you could ever give or receive.

As I grow older I can’t tell you how many times I wish I had some sort of record of my grandparents lives. Both sets of my grandparents were very interesting but from different social classes. I often wonder what Mamaw would have done when faced with a certain situation or what Grammy would have done. Alas, there is no way to find out since they are no longer with us.

How were they raised? What were their goals on life? What were their feelings and thoughts on just about anything?

I long to know but never will. The Story of a Lifetime: A Keepsake of Personal Memoirs by Pamela and Stephen Pavuk is a wonderful gift to get you started writing about your life.

My parents were given this book by my brother to start chronicling their lives. When finished it will be the best gift they have ever given our family. My unborn grandchildren will have the opportunity to get to know their great-grandparents in their own words. They can share stories, philosophies and what their life was like thru a personal memoir such as this.

So, my recommendation today is, start now, before it’s too late. Life has so many twists and turns that none of us know if we will be here tomorrow. Give this book to your parents, grandparents or to yourself. The gift you receive in return is priceless!

Mandee

for more information about Writing Memoir visit Writing Life Story or visit my blog Life Story Writing

for more information about the book, visit this page I made The Gift of Personal Stories (all links open in a new window)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mandeelikes.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/personal-stories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

